Am I eligible to receive benefits?
You must be totally or partially unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the start date of your claim, or alternatively the last 4 quarters). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.
How do I apply for benefits in Delaware?
You can apply online or in person.
How much will I receive?
Your weekly benefit amount will be 1/46 of your wages in the 2 highest wage quarters in your base period. However, no one who is eligible for benefits will receive less than $20 or more than $330 a week, if eligible.
How long will I receive these benefits?
The length of time that you will receive benefits is also based on how much you made during the base period, and you can receive a total amount of benefits equal to 50% of your base period wages or 26 times your weekly benefit amount, whichever is less.
After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
You must continue to file weekly either online at WebBenefits or via phone. Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work. You must actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities (a form to help you do so can be found in the Claimant Handbook). To be actively seeking work, you must contact at least 1 employer each week you file for benefits. You must also report to a local office when instructed to do so. You must register to work and update a Jobseeker Account with the Division of Employment and Training. This includes building a resume in Delaware Joblink. Finally, you must accept suitable work.
I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
You must appeal within 10 calendar days from the date of the decision. Your appeal may be submitted in person or by mail to your local office. Also, you must keep filing your weekly claims regularly because you will only be paid for weeks you filed if you win your appeal.
For more information on Delaware’s unemployment insurance laws: